Happy Thoughts and Happenings

The weekdays are hectic. Happy hectic I must say. Now that spring is here, activities have begun. And how! Activities, for the little boy, I mean. Mondays and Tuesdays are Karate, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays are for Soccer practice and match, Fridays for swimming. That leaves us just 1 day Sunday to do anything else, which is mostly groceries and getting ready for the next week. But its a good way to spend the week than feeling depressed by the cold and the early nights. This last week, even I went for walk 2 days while the kid practiced soccer. Have aching thighs for proof! πŸ˜€ OK on the unfit part, lets talk some other time.

In addition to this, we have planned a memorial day holiday with family at a lake house that I’m soo looking forward to…

The days are getting longer and the sun shines brightly. We even saw a double rainbow over our home last weekend – seems like a small thing, but it was so beautiful, felt refreshed and a new found respect for Mother Nature. I remembered the last time I saw a double rainbow was in Columbus,OH all those years ago! Really? Why don’t we see a full rainbow in Bangalore?

A mom at school told me that I look way younger than my age – she said I don’t look older than 30! πŸ˜€ Considering I have a 6yr old!! That made my day…She also told me that her son always talks about mine and says he is his BFF because he is the only kid who doesn’t “tell” on him and is always ready to help him. Now that made me even happier! I had heard from the teacher that he never hurts/harms anyone and is always ready to help… but coming from another mom whose son has ADHD (she said so herself) and is always bullied in class – I’m proud that mine calls himself a friend and helps him. I hope the sensitivity remains.

Last but definitely not the least on the school front – we had a final PTM last friday and Im so relieved! The teacher was happy, said that considering he is the youngest in class and competing with children nearly an year older, he is doing great – he got 199 out of 200 words correct, enjoys his science class and is doing good with no issues in Math. For all the worries I had when the school began (fodder for another post :-)) I heaved a huge sigh of relief knowing that he has scaled up and the teacher is happy with him. She said, “he will sail through in the 2nd grade – he has really done well and if he was passing out of kindergarten he would have aced his class!” Ha! What more can a parent ask for? For this year, my year is made! πŸ˜€

So what happy thoughts and things did you have this week?

4 thoughts on “Happy Thoughts and Happenings

What do you think?