Recap – MishMash February and March

So many things happened during February and I kept thinking I should put it all up as individual posts but there just wasnt enough time.

Shirdi Trip: After a lot of planning since October ’12 the Shirdi trip happened in Feb. At the last minute the husband dropped off since he had some office conference to attend. But I had a huge gang of people coming with me – all of my mother’s side family – uncles, aunts and cousins -at total of 15 people. Chutku being the only kid was nicely pampered and nothing I said was taken seriously. A Very scaredy cat looking at the train, he initially threw a huge tantrum refusing the get into to train. By the end of the trip he was ready to walk between the vestibules by himself, even categorically telling me that I should not accompany him. The trip itself was very nice and I gained confidence hat I can manage the little fellow by myself.

Parents’ House warming: Something I was looking forward to for quite a few months. Bro and SIL came for a couple of weeks and the house was full of activity and happenings. For me, though the house is big and wonderfully constructed – I now need to re-align my image of that house as Mom’s house-sadly it doesnt look or feel anything like the house I grew up in… Something I need to grow out of maybe-I tell myself thats wher my parents would live from now on… I met a lot of relatives I hadnt seen in years and suddenly felt how artificial people behave with each other sometimes and how I hardly had anything to say to so many of them. Ofcourse they have been a part of my growing up years and I know them well(really?) but either I have grown up or become more cynical. I did spruce myself up a bit keeping this as a good reason-a parlor visit and mehendi (after 3 yrs) and growing a bit of nails -All feel like some hi-profile, page 3 person 😛

3 of my friends had their babies in Feb and I spent some time visiting them all. Attended a few more family gatherings and also went out last weekend with my office friends. One of them wanted to try out the Fish-Spa at Garuda Mall (which I didnt-I found it yucky) post which we had a yummy and heavy lunch at Kobe’ Sizzlers, some window shopping and coffee at Coffee Day-was a day well spent…Not sure, if I will jinx it by putting here, but I’ve again begun to learn/re-learn driving, so I can be more independent with all the impending changes over the next few months.

Over the next few months, we are expecting a lot of changes-Chutkut’s school has been decided which is closer to my parents’ place, so we would be moving in right above my parents renting out the house above. The sad part is letting-out our home too, we’ve been here for only 3yrs and havent done anything as part of decor that I had dreamed of, but I guess thats just not to be 😦 It would also mean that the distance from work to home would nearly double – meaning we would be spending more than 3hrs travelling. On the positive side, atleast for Chutku, his school and daycare would be closer and I would always have my parents to fall back on, incase… Im only hoping that I dont make it a daily habit – I want to run my family myself!! And I hope that I can make Chutku a little more independent in terms of sleeping on his own since this house is all on the same level.

The next couple of months is another season of changes and adjustments for all of us-Im only hoping it would all be for the better…

4 thoughts on “Recap – MishMash February and March

  1. Pingback: The school hunting story | Sugar and Spice

  2. I was supposed to drop an email and ask if everything is Ok at your end..I am glad that you took time to write. Thta’s was a busy Feb and March. Now don’t disappear please.

    School is so difficult to choose, I am glad you found one. Having parents around would be a great help, at least you know there is someone to pick him in case you are stuck at work or traffic, possibilities are high. These days my biggest worry is that as picking and dropping is my responsibility and I have to follow the timings.

What do you think?

