Dear Women Folks,

Is this correct English? I know my language skills are not the best, but coming from a very senior person in the organisation and an official mail wishing all women for Women’s day – I think this is a little embarassing…

Women – is plural on its own and so is Folk – which means people. And to top it, the word used in Folks – a word that doesnt exist in the language at all making  it completely incorrect english.

If this English irritated me then I would love to know what SnS and Pepper have to say to this? 🙂

Im just not able to let go of the language folly and consider only the message actually here. So, Happy Women’s Day, Ladies! And let everyday be a day of equality…

22 thoughts on “Dear Women Folks,

  1. garima

    Me being english illiterate let me not comment on the usage of it 🙂
    Well wish you a very happy women’s day…
    A so loved the last line…

    1. Babe! I let go most times – either thinking they were not fortunate enough to study in a good school which could teach them better language or sorry that they didnt read to pick up the right vocabulary. But this, coming from a very senior member in the organisation – irritated me.

  2. oh ho forget about that .. look at the sentiment , look at the emotion and all that pallava 🙂

    Ki farak painda .. the idea is to understand what it means ..

    Happy Women’s Day … na this is not correct either .. there goes my english out of the window .. 🙂

    1. Bik.. why do u say… Women’s Day ..is wrong english?

      Here the ‘s’ after women is apostrophe and then s… which means day belonging to women, and not plural of women.
      (There is no plural of women anyway, women in itself is plural of woman.)

  3. Errr,,,,its like how R says ‘So many Childrens’ I tell her its Children..she tells me no no mereko toh Childrens acha lagta hai…there you go 🙂

    1. We do use childrens… 🙂 No, not to describe plural of child…that is children only. But to describe different types of children. Or something to that effect. This was taught to be my grandfather double M.A. literature and principal of his own college so I do not doubt his word.
      I could be wrong though.

      1. Okay, so I have this urge to get to the very bottom of this. I didn’t think “childrens” was an acceptable word in any context. My English teacher, who also had a double MA in Lit used to say she will skin us alive if we think of using the word “Childrens’. She told us it was unimaginably wrong. Even ‘different types of children’ are just that, different types of children, not childrens.

        Now I saw this comment and it wouldn’t leave my mind. So I called up my friend who has a PhD in Literature from one of the top universities here. She too said ‘childrens’ was a wrong word. Then I went and I looked up on every available dictionary online, nowhere did I find a meaning for ‘childrens’.

        I will not be able to sleep until I solve this (I know, I am crazy :P), but please can you find out more and tell me if ‘Childrens’ is a word? All my life I have believed it is wrong. Now I just *have* to know it.

        1. different varieties of fish(es) are called fishes. 🙂
          Teeth is plural, singular is tooth.
          Children plural, child singular
          but you lost me at ppectacles, coz spectacle gives a different meaning altogether.

          1. Hmm, to give an example:

            ‘Peoples’ is correct only when it is used to refer to people from different races. Eg., Peoples of the world.

            Similarly, the plural of ‘fish’ is ‘fish’. But when you are talking about many deifferent species of fish, you say “fishes.” Eg., “The fishes in the atlantic ocean ere affected by the oil spill.”

            I don’t think the spectacles thing is right, though.

    2. R’s Mom, curious to know, how do you deal with R when she speaks incorrect English. Do you let go if she says mereko toh yeh acha lagta hai? Or do you keep correcting her? 🙂

      Also, a 3 yr old R saying all that is very different from a senior member of an organisation saying that na..

  4. You don’t know how much this annoys me, especially when it comes from somebody very senior. But I am willing to let go, because I am guessing this was an unintentional error. I hope it was not consciously written in that uncaring, incorrect way, that riles me up more. But doesn’t matter how riled up I get, I have decided to shut up. 😀

    1. Hey! It was not just this one instance that this phrase was used. It was used through the day yesterday even while wishing verbally which only meant that the person was unaware of the right usage. And that put me off – the bad thing is I loose respect for people who are in such good positions, who represent the organisation world-wide and then they dont even attempt to improve their language

      1. What more do I have to?!

        Actually, I’ll look at whether this guy speaks good-English otherwise. If he does, then yes, it is a grave mistake and the error should be pointed out to him. If he always minces with his language not attempting to improve, then isn’t it better to let go? Is there any other option at all?

  5. I think the person got confused, you know…we say “folks” while addressing a group? So maybe the person meant it as an attention getting thing. Like “Hey folks, listen up.”

    Or maybe he was trying to be cool by addressing “women folks” that way 😀

    Personally, I find it quite odd. It would have been better worded as “Dear ladies” or even “Dear colleagues”!

What do you think?

