A Real Love Story: My entry for the Get Published contest’-Teri Meri Prem Kahaani-No love at First Sight

It was those initial days of degree college when we were 4 school friends in a new college. We were very religiously attending the classes. One such hot July afternoon, we were all sitting in a very strict Math class- I can still remember the Mehendi Brown hair of the lecturer with his tall build. It was about 20mins since the class had started and we heard some noise and a few boys wanted to come into the class.None of them had the guts to ask the lecturer an “Excuse Me” or “May I come In” and were discussing who would ask. Then one of them was pushed ahead and asked permission very confidently and when the lecturer asked why they were late, he very confidently said “Sir, we didn’t know whose class it was, only when we realized it was your class, we decided to attend” and the lecturer just let them all in. The friend sitting next to me nudged me and said” He is S, he was in my class in +2 also. Very arrogant guy.”- That was the first sight. Confession: I kind of liked his confidence and the way his hair fell on his forehead…

He says: He first ‘noticed’ me at the bus stop one afternoon while my friend and me were waiting for the bus. I do remember that conversation-about planning for the 1st year trip and I also remember we missed a couple of buses so we could continue chatting! And all that he noticed about me was my non-stop chatter with a lot of head and arm waving and he thought “My God! How much this girl talks with all those actions! I wonder how her neck doesn’t hurt by the end of the day!”

The boys had decided to participate in the college inter class drama competition that year, while the rest of the class had to contribute money. And we all had to give it to S! During a break between classes one of the girls gave him the money and he said something real nasty and I lost my temper. I shouted right back at him and told him that there was no need for any Ego clashes here and we were only giving money as a class, so if he didn’t want it he could just leave and pay the rest of the money from his pocket. And he just stared at me and walked off. Much later I got to know that the 2 had already had a fight regarding this money and that was a continuation of the same argument and I had only heard his words.Oops! But no, I didn’t apologize.

And that is how we met. I remember telling a friend then: “My God! This guy has so much ego that he needs someone really strong who can head-butt with him at every stage to get things her way.”

Little did I know that *that* girl could be me!

This is my entry for the HarperCollins–IndiBlogger Get Published contest, which is run with inputs from Yashodhara Lal andHarperCollins India

2 thoughts on “A Real Love Story: My entry for the Get Published contest’-Teri Meri Prem Kahaani-No love at First Sight

  1. When did you move to wordpress dear..I didn’t know 🙂

    And what a great way to start my day, you and Seemu is making my day bright and happy with your love stories. And I love love stories 🙂

  2. Wow that college scenes just so real ! I guess we all have enjoyed it at some point o time and now that u know it as the ‘first’ glimpse makes it all the more special..hai na.. 🙂 And that excuse that we thought it’s ur class…had a good laugh reminiscing my college days 🙂
    And could so well relate to the feeling in ur last line 🙂 Loved it !

What do you think?

