Friday Fun – The Dad’s Birthday letter to the son

Dearest Son,

It seems a little surreal to me that as I write this letter to you, a year has already passed since your first birthday and a year since I wrote a letter to you for the first time. The past 12 months have just been a blur and I wonder sometimes at what travels faster—time or the rate at which you are growing.

When I started penning this letter, I did not know where to start from so let me start by first telling you that I am your biggest fan. For all the talk of how challenging you can be, how mischievous, how demanding, I want to take this opportunity on your second birthday to tell you that you are absolutely perfect. Exactly as you are. Let there be no doubt about it, son.

Its fascinating to observe the different facets of your personality so clearly visible right now. You are wild, tempestuous, and mischievous. You are intent, self-sufficient, determined. You know just what you want out of each and every moment of life, and you nearly always seem to get it. I am in awe of you, sonny boy. You are goofy, independent, curious, loving, dramatic, intelligent. All the joy in our home stems from you son. You are our greatest joy, our proudest accomplishment to date. Your mother is constantly amazed by you and completely enamored.

I just love the way you keep calling Amma Amma for everything. Amma….see this, Amma….see that. It literally is a chant which turns into a yell if she does not respond. And Amma being the wonderful soul she is, always responds…almost always. There are obviously a lot of life lessons I intend to teach you but the first and foremost thing is respect for your mother being one of most important ones. I can’t even begin to explain the sacrifices she has made for you, both before and after you were born.

I love the way you are going about discovering this world through your eyes and that is something I will never stop you from. Discover the world, dream….dream big because only if you dream big will you be able to experience life to the fullest. We might not be able to achieve everything we dream about but atleast we can attempt to make it a reality. As your father I hope to resist the temptation of dreaming for you because that isn’t fair to you. This is your life and I want you to live it for youself, be the man you are destined to become by following the passions that drive you. And though you may not have the same dreams as me, I do hope that you can learn from the mistakes I have made.

There are so many things I want to pen down that if I do so, this letter might just go on and on. Let me conclude by saying that I was fortunate to experience rebirth in my life, with your birth. The past two years have easily been the most exciting and rewarding of my life and I have you to thank for it.

And so it is with this renewed happiness that I wish you a happy second birthday little man. Your mother and I love you even more than we ever could have thought possible. I hope that your mother and I always make it known to you that you are the most precious thing we have. I hope that you always know how much we want for you and that we will go to the ends of the earth to provide for you. You are basically one heart pumping away in two souls. Love you Son.

Happy Birth(Cake) GunDaNNa.

What do you think?

