Work related updates

First of all, I need to let all of you know that I am regularly reading all the posts BUT somehow this browser doesnt allow me to comment. And most days Im just too tired to go back home and log-in again-just to put in the comment.So, dont throw me out of your radar!
And this change is mostly because I have now moved (yay!).Moved departments. For 8 (nearly) years I was a proper ‘Techie’ mainly working in technology specific projects with client defined timelines and client facing roles. I know I was good – All my peers/seniors who have worked with me or my juniors to whom I  might (Im not too good at that 😦 ) have helped have told me. 

Like any other working person I did crib about my job or the odd pressure but while I cribbed – I enjoyed the cribbing – you know what I mean? I used to enjoy the importance of doing the job and being indispensible – it did wonders to my Ego too! But after Chutku and a lot of such cribbing later I realised that there was no longer that happiness associated with going to work. It felt like I was doing the same thing,  I was doing for the past 7+ years and somewhere down the line I began to loose interest. Also, once I began to take on other responsibilities apart from just the techie stuff – I began to learn that there was so much more to the work! And I began to like doing that more than the techie stuff.

And then when I moved to this organisation, and after a lot of delibaration and discussion AND putting all my frustration out here on the blog, I have now moved! Moved out of the role I was so used to doing. Moved to what they call ‘Enabling Functions’. How does it feel – Kind of “Fish out of water”  at the moment. A new place, new desk, new people.Moved to non-client,non-technology role. Where I know there is a lot to learn though that kind of pressure might not exist. Im also still kind of feeling odd-because I dont need to meet the external clients, dont need to stay back to take calls, I can schedule my day as I want BUT there is also a sense of loss – that Im going to loose that ‘Techie” tag and the opportunity to meet clients is like nill.

Lets see where this goes. So, far its been a couple weeks and Im enjoying meeting new people and sitting in various meetings and sessions, getting to know the processes for the organisation better – a bigger picture infact. Best of all – Im leaving on time everyday with no stress! Leaving you with such a picture: A friend and fellow blogger took a picture of Chutku and I walking back to the bus one evening πŸ™‚
What do you think?

