An uncool Mom

I think Im going to become one.

I’ve written about Chutku’s first trip to he zoo and on the way back how we went to Raman’s house for Tea. Well, her house is itself fodder for a Home Decor post but I will not dwell into that here…
She has a teenage son who studies in a school close by and on the way she showed us the school and the huge mall that has opened up just a few streets away from the school. And then she said ” I told him that he can aaraamse get his girlfriend here for movies and coffee”.
And then today I met another friend who said his mom is very cool about his marriage and insists that he will have to find his own girl, be in a relationship and then decide if he wants to take it further!
And in both the cases I was wondering if I have become old-fashioned already. When Raman mentioned about her son my thought was – “No way! Girlfriend in school,movies and coffee in mall? – I dont think I would be happy about Chutku doing any of these” And in the second case – “No way! Love and girlfriend is fine but Im not so sure about live-in before marriage yet”. Where as I think Chutku’s Dad will be more acceptable of these situations more than me.
That was when I realised that maybe I AM going to be an uncool Mom. I just hope that Chutku will not see them as constraints but as some rules that needs to be implemented to help make him a better person. I think that girlfriends and movies in school is too young! And the concept of live-in has somehow never been very appealing for the only reason that it doesnt really *bind* the 2 people to make the relationship work! If you DO want to live-in you can as well get married? Hmmm? This has got me thinking…Or am I still stuck somewhere between today and 10 years in the past?
On a much lighter note – The little fellow gave me my first flower 🙂 And I want to record that here… He picked up a flower kept at the main door, came in search of me calling ‘Amma,Amma’ – bypassed his Dad who kept asking him what happened,came straight to me in the kitchen and opened his palm to reveal a jasmine flower.And that made my day on sunday 😀
What do you think?

