Office Rant rant rant…

OK, I’ve been quite dis-satisfied with what I’ve been doing for the last 3 months in this new project. Though I had made it pretty clear initially about what I wanted and where I wanted to go, the concerned people didnt bother about it and just put me where they most wanted somebody. I even made it clear that I have the experience of doing the next role because I’ve already done it and they just dismissed it…

And I’ve been doing the work that a 3yr experienced person would be doing – sometimes a 1yr exp would be doing. And I did that too thinking things will improve and change. But nope! Since I so quietly accepted all that they dumped on me they are no way close to giving me even the opportunity to move ahead. They want me to continue in this rut for as long as they can wring the max out of me. They want me to do the donkey’s work and give credit to someone else whose work Im doing. As long as I keep quiet and continue to do it – all’s well but where is that leading me? I’ve been proactive and tried to introduce something new which is not even considered because ‘onsite’ doesnt want it…

I’m confused – do I just keep quiet and keep doing this while being unhappy? Compromise because I have a day care here where I can be available for Chuktu? Because I have the physical comfort of travelling with hubby everyday (Now even that is not possible with his erratic long hours)? Continue to do the work and let others take the credit for it?  Or do I just quit and get another job elsewhere and then see how it will work out -Im scared to do that with the dependencies right now…

I realise that I’ve somehow brought upon myself the wrath of ‘onsite’ because I spoke up with issues that were causing problems. I didnt realise that the others here just keep their mouth shut and do as their ‘onsite’ asks them to – even to the extent of a*se licking which I abhor and find disgusting! I realise I take my disappointment at work – home and let it affect my weekends and evenings.

I had a discussion today with the ‘2 ups’ and let them know that despite having made my intentions clear Im not getting what I asked for and Im unhappy with it. I’ve been asked to think about it and get back in a couple of days and I told them that I’ve already thought about this and I dont want to continue to do what Im doing because I dont see any career growth for me in this…

Did I do wrong? Does that come across as unprofessional? Am I letting my heart make the decision – I’ve given this a lot of thought and Im still uncertain…

What do you think?

